Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 4th, 2010

Pop music’s catalog is teeming with songs inspired by real-life women, and a new bombshell book, The Girl In The Song, details 50 female muses behind some of modern music’s most iconic recordings, including the Kinks’ “Lola,” Neil Diamond’s “Sweet Caroline,” George Harrison’s “Something,” Leonard Cohen’s “Chelsea Hotel No. 2,” the Knack’s “My Sharona,” Pink Floyd’s “See Emily Play,” and Bob Dylan’s “It Ain’t Me Babe.” Some of the book’s findings are surprising (Neil’s ditty was about Caroline Kennedy; the Kinks’ Ray Davies wrote about Warhol-affiliated drag queen Candy Darling; Leonard sang about Janis Joplin). But perhaps the book’s biggest shocker is that Billy Joel’s smash “Uptown Girl” wasn’t written about his then-wife Christie Brinkley, who famously played the titular character in that song’s video…but by another ’80s supermodel, Elle Macpherson.

According to The Girl In The Songauthors Michael Heatley and Frank Hopkinson, Billy was vacationing in the Caribbean when something happened to that only occurs during rock-star vacations or maybe in Penthouse Forum letters: He ran into Elle, his future missus Christie, and a then-unknown model/singer named Whitney Houston, all of whom were staying at the same hotel. Billy actually first dated the Australian Elle, not all-American beauty Christie, after that encounter, and Elle was in fact the model who inspired Billy’s doo-woppy hit (which was then titled “UptownGirls,” plural). Later, Billy moved on to Christie, switched the song title to be singular, cast Christie in the “Uptown Girl” video, and made her his wife for the next nine years.

You know, we wonder if Christie knew at the time that she wasn’t really the uptown girl her downtown-man husband had in mind all long. Well, if she didn’t know it then, she certainly does now.

http://new.music.yahoo.com/blogs/stopthepresses/322594/gasp-billy-joels-uptown-girl-wasnt-christie-brinkley-after-all/

Read Full Post »

Fergie is Glamour’s Woman of the Year

  • For Glamour magazine’s 20th anniversary of its Women of the Year Awards, Black Eyed Peas singer Fergie scored the ultimate honor — she’s being featured on three different covers of the December issue as the magazine’s Woman of the Year. Fergie opened up to Glamour about her tough rise to the top, her husband Josh Duhamel, and living life in the spotlight.

    Fergie graces the cover of Glamour’s December issue.Martin Schoeller/Glamour The singer scored three different December covers!Martin Schoeller/Glamour

    More Shots from Fergie’s Glam Cover Shoot

    Though she’s riding high on the success of her solo career, and her gig as frontwoman for the Black Eyed Peas, life wasn’t always one success after the other for the girl originally known as Stacy Ferguson. “There were periods of my life when a lot of people didn’t believe in me. [But] I still had faith in myself,” shares Fergie, who goes on offer some sage advice to anyone wanting to succeed in showbiz. “I really had to ask myself life questions. Where do I see myself in five years? Create a ladder for yourself, and walk up the steps. Climb that ladder.”

    One thing she never had an issue with? Knowing exactly what she wanted to do in life: “For some lucky reason or gift from God, I’ve known what I wanted to do since I was a little girl. And even through disappointments and rejection, there was something inside of me that wouldn’t give up. I’m a survivor, and I’m very driven.”

    See All of Glamour’s Women of the Year

    Martin Schoeller/Glamour

    Taylor Swift Opens Up to Glamour

    How does she deal with the legions of fans who throw themselves at her handsome husband,Josh Duhamel? “For me, I’m not a jealous person,” says the singer, adding, “That’s just not my thing. You have to have trust in your relationship.”

    A tabloid frenzy occurred last October after rumors surfaced that Duhamel cheated on her, but one year later it turns out Fergie is pretty Zen about the whole ordeal, noting she got through the hard times by “just knowing that our relationship was stronger than that.” Acknowledging the fishbowl existence of a star, she adds, “We live in a voyeuristic world, and it’s part of our business. But I like to [focus on] all the perks that I get in this business.”

    Apart from natural talent and good looks, in the interview the 2010 Woman of the Year wisely imparts that the most important asset you can have for surviving in Hollywood is good self-esteem. “[If] you start making the right choices for yourself, all of a sudden you start feeling better and better. You’d be surprised how addicting high self-esteem is.”

    In addition to Fergie, this year’s other Woman of the Year honorees include Julia RobertsCher,Donatella Versace, and athletes Mia Hamm and Lindsey Vonn.

    Lea Michele’s Glamour Cover Shoot

    Martin Schoeller/Glamour

Read Full Post »

Cher Sounds Off

In this day and age, where pretty much every interview is publicist-approved, where celebrities guard their words so they can’t be misconstrued, and rarely say what’s really on their minds for fear of alienating their fans, Cher is a breath of fresh air. In a hilariously candid interview withVanity Fair, the iconic, award-winning singer and actress has absolutely no fear when it comes to divulging her opinions on everything from her marriage to Sonny Bono, her daughter-turned-son Chaz’s sex change, and her thoughts on aging gracefully … or not.

In the feature, Cher reveals that she’s still coming to terms with her daughter Chastity’s new persona after she underwent gender reassignment surgery to become a man last year. “If I woke up tomorrow in a guy’s body, I would just kick and scream and cry and f—— rob a bank, because I cannot see myself as anything but who I am — a girl. I would not take it as well as Chaz has. I couldn’t imagine it.” While Cher is a proud mom, she admits to Vanity Fair that she still gets confused: “She’s a very smart girl — boy! This is where I get into trouble. My pronouns are f—–. I still don’t remember to call her ‘him.'”

More Cher at Vanity Fair

She also confesses that even though they had a tumultuous relationship, she never would have left her former husband, the late Sonny Bono, if he had treated her less like a valuable commodity, and more like a wife. “I forgive him, I think,” says the Oscar winner, adding, “He hurt me in so many ways, but there was something. He was so much more than a husband — a terrible husband, but a great mentor, a great teacher… If he had agreed to just disband Cher Enterprises and start all over again, I would have never ever left. Just split it down the middle, 50-50.”

Cher’s One-of-a-Kind Fashion Legacy

Norman Jean Roy/Vanity FairWell known for her occasional trips to the plastic surgeon’s office, the 64-year-old star still looks remarkably well preserved for her age, but thinks that her “Silkwood” co-star has her beat when it comes to aging gracefully. “I think Meryl [Streep] is doing it great,” praises Cher, adding with a laugh, “The stupid b—- is doing it better than all of us! But I don’t like it. It’s getting in my way. I have a job to do, and it’s making my job harder. I’ve been screaming at the top of my lungs at my family, ‘Work out! Work out! Old age is coming!’ At some point you will need the strength. Who would have ever thought you would get this old?”

Angelina Jolie in Vanity Fair

When it comes to her family, the “Believe” singer is honest about her shortcomings as a parent to both Chaz, 41, and Elijah Blue, 34, saying that her kids still harbor some anger toward her for choosing her career over them when they were young. “I think Chaz is pretty much finished with it, and I think Elijah has a little longer to go, but they both really love me a lot. But it’s hard,” saysCher reflectively, adding, “One time, when Chaz was little, we were on a field trip, and she said, ‘I’m so pissed off, Mom. You can never not beCher — we can never just do something.’ So your kids pay,” she concludes. “I did the best I could do, and yet it was definitely lacking.”

 

http://omg.yahoo.com/blogs/a-line/cher-sounds-off/676?nc

Read Full Post »

Picture of the day:

Who ya gonna call?

 

Read Full Post »

David Cassidy Busted for DUI

The 1970s teen heartthrob of “The Partridge Family,” David Cassidy, was arrested on Wednesday night on a DUI charge.

Cassidy, of Fort Lauderdale, was pulled over in his white Mercedes by the Florida Highway Patrol after the officer noticed the car was swerving off the road, the police report states.

According to the report, the 60-year-old told police that he’d had a glass of wine around lunch time and took a Hydrocodone around 3:30 pm. The report also states that the breath test was taken around 8:30 p.m. and Cassidy blew over the legal limit. The officer says he also found a half empty bottle of bourbon in the vehicle.  The actor’s rep tells ET that Cassidy was on his way back from a funeral in Gainesville.

Cassidy was released around 3:30 a.m. Thursday morning from St. Lucie County Jail after posting $350 bond.

http://www.etonline.com/tv/102537_David_Cassidy_Busted_for_DUI/index.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+ETTopStories+(Entertainment+Tonight:+Breaking+News)&utm_content=Google+Feedfetcher

 

Read Full Post »

ET’s Samantha Harris pays a visit to the set of CBS’ “The Big Bang Theory,” catching up with the cast and guest star Eliza Dushku! Plus, Kaley Cuoco dishes about working with a broken leg following a horseback riding accident!

“I’ve been wheeling myself in a wheelchair here to get around,” Kaley says. “They proceed to stick me in corners where I can’t get out.”

“It’s not as cruel as it sounds — it’s not half as cruel as most of the stuff I do to her,” Kaley’s co-star and ex-boyfriend Johnny Galecki jokes.

On tonight’s episode, Eliza Dushku joins the cast as an FBI agent investigating Howard (Simon Helberg), who is up for a top-secret government job. Johnny reveals that being interrogated by Eliza has been a longtime fantasy of his, with Kunal Nayyar adding, “She’s pretty intense – looking into those eyes, she makes me bare my whole soul to her.”

Watch the video to see the cast discuss the time they spent with Mary Hart on the ET stage!

You can catch “The Big Bang Theory” in its new timeslot, Thursday nights at 8 p.m. on CBS.

 

http://www.etonline.com/news/102522_VIDEO_Kaley_Cuoco_s_First_ET_Interview_Since_Breaking_Her_Leg/index.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+ETTopStories+(Entertainment+Tonight:+Breaking+News)&utm_content=Google+Feedfetcher

 

Read Full Post »